Quarantine Activities: Debbie Allen Hosting Virtual Dance Class and Black Twitter Rewatching ‘Homecoming’

As America is locking down amid the spread of COVID-19, entertainers and influencers are coming up with creative ways to keep everyone sane and engaged.

The latest include Emmy winner Debbie Allen offering a free dance class on Instagram live and Black Twitter collectively rewatching Beyoncé’s Grammy and NAACP Image award-winning documentary Homecoming.

Allen, who currently serves as an executive producer on Shonda Rhimes’ flagship series Grey Anatomy and runs her own dance academy, is planning to get everyone’s bodies moving.

The dance class kicks off at 1pm PST / 4pm EST.

On Monday, Netflix’s Editorial Manager for Strong Black Lead, Jasmyn Lawson, suggested we all watch Homecoming again. Within 30 minutes, a time and day were set.

To make the experience more fun, travel blogger Howie (@whal510) made a Netflix Party extension for everyone to join and watch together.

The official hashtags for the occasion are #HOMEcoming and #StayAtHOMEcoming.

Homecoming’s virtual watch party begins at 6pm PST / 9pm EST.

Share Your Thoughts

Bryant Smith

Bryant is creative, personable, quick-witted and the founder of The Top Tea. He is a Howard alum and USC graduate student. He’s toured multiple countries, sung background for artists such as Mary J. Blige, Fantasia and Andra Day and performed at venues like The White House (under Pres. Obama) and The Kennedy Center on multiple occasions. Bryant also worked on the casting team for Netflix’s Rhythm + Flow.

InstagramInstagram has returned invalid data.

@TheTopTea